Nicole Donini’s #SpartanSuccess!

Meet, Nicole Donini! She is here to tell us a little bit about all of her success here at STAC!

BLOG

When did you (plan to) graduate and what was/is your major?

I plan to graduate May 2018 with a degree in accounting.

Can you tell me a little about the internship?

Over the summer I interned with KPMG in their Montvale office.  During my internship, I learned all the background work of the company.  For the summer, I worked on analyzing the top 2200 clients of KPMG.  Typically, as an accounting major, you think there is only audit or tax.  This work was looking at how the audit and tax functions drove in the most revenue.  It was explained as having KPMG as your client instead of working for other clients.

How did you hear about this position?

I heard about this position through the KPMG Mentorship Program here at STAC.  I was introduced to my mentor my sophomore year and have stayed in touch ever since.  I got to intern under him this past summer.

Can you explain the Interview Process?

There was a 2-step interview.  First was a phone interview.  For about 45 I was on the phone with a KPMG recruiter.  This interview was a very easy/casual interview.  It was about getting to know my interests and me.  Next was the in-person interview.  I went to the KPMG office and got interviewed by two people.  This part was your typical interview.  The interviewers asking me questions about my previous internship and myself asking questions about the firm.

Did Career Development/STAC help you in anyway?

Career development introduced me to the mentorship program.  Without them, I wouldn’t have met my mentor who was able to help me with this incredible experience.

Can you tell us about some of your current responsibilities / roles?

I don’t have any current roles. The internship ended in August.

What is your favorite aspect of the position, can you give an example of what has been your favorite experience so far?

During the summer months, we had to do monthly reports.  All the new numbers came out the first week of each month. It was so exciting to see how the numbers changed from month to month.  Basically, all the reports processes were the same each time but it felt different because you were dealing with different numbers.

What do you plan to do after the Internship?

I plan to line up another internship with KPMG for summer 2018 in their NYC office.  I will also begin my MBA after graduation and start my CPA test.

What advice do you have for other STAC students looking for an Internship?

My advice to other STAC students would be to not be scared and go for it.  Originally, I thought it would be close to impossible to land an internship with a big four accounting firm.  We come from a small school and the competition is hard out there.  Go to networking events; meet as many people as you can.  Believe it or not, people want to help.  Career Development helped me with the program and my mentor helped me with the internship.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

