Considering the Disney College Program?

dcp1

Meet Theresa McKenna, a fellow STAC student who participated in the Disney College Program!

She’s here to answer some of our questions, and help future Spartans who are interested in the Disney College Program.

What was the reason you wanted to participate in the Disney College Program?

I wanted to participate in the Disney College Program because I would like to work for Disney in the graphic design field, and this is a good way to get my foot in the door.

How many times did you apply before you were accepted into the program?

I applied to the program once before I was accepted.

Did you apply for the Fall, Spring, Fall Advantage or Spring Advantage program?

I applied for the Fall program.

You applied for the program to begin after you graduated from STAC.  Are you happy with that decision?  Why or why not?

I am happy with the decision to apply for the program start after my graduation because I did not want to miss out on any college experiences or classes. Since I am finished with school, I don’t have to worry about other classes or homework in addition to my job.

Please describe your day of arrival.

On the day I arrived, I checked in to my housing complex at 8 in the morning. I was able to quickly move my things in before I had to go to an introductory class called Traditions. Here, they finalized everything that would enable me to work. It took about an hour, and then I had the rest of the day to move in, meet my roommates, and get food and supplies.

Did you get to choose where you would live?  Which housing complex did you choose (or get assigned to) and what was it like?

Before I came down for the program, I was sent a registration email for housing and was asked to rank my complex and room size preferences. There was no guarantee I would get what I chose. Out of four housing complexes, I ended up being placed in Chatham Square in a 2-bedroom, 6-person suite. It has a kitchen, a small dining area, and a small common area for all of us to share. The housing complex itself has 30 buildings, as well as laundry facilities, a gym, a field, and a pool.

Did you choose where you would work at Disney?  Did you choose the job?

While filling out the application, I was able to put down preferences of what I wanted to do while in the program. I chose children’s activities, merchandise, monorail greeter, boutique worker, and recreation. There was no option to choose where in Disney I wanted to work. They place you where they need you.

What job did you end up with?

I ended up working merchandise at All Star Movies resort in Donald’s Double Feature gift shop.

What do you like best about your job?  Least?

The best part about my job is my coworkers, and getting to interact with all the guests every day. I meet so many people and get to talk to them a little bit and try to make their stay a little more magical.

About how many hours per week do you work?

I work between 30 and 38 hours a week. My schedule is different every week.

Do you have an opportunity to work in your career field of interest?

In my current position, I don’t think I have an opportunity to work in my career field of interest. I have to network more.

Have you taken any of the Disney courses?  If yes, which ones?  Anything interesting you want to share?

I have not taken any of the Disney courses.

What are some of the perks for participating in the Disney College Program?  (Ex. Free tickets to the park, meals, activities, etc…)

Some of the perks of participating in the Disney College Program include free admission into the parks whenever I want, discounts on food and merchandise, and free guest tickets.

Anything else you’d like to share?

The program is a lot of work, but it’s a ton of fun!

 

blog 2

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

