Spartan Success at North Rockland High School!

nrhs logo
Matt Simuro, now a High School Chemistry teacher at North Rockland High School, located in Thiells, NY, shares his #SpartanSuccess 
When did you (plan to) graduate and what was/is your major?
“I graduated in December of 2001. My major was chemistry.”
How did you hear about your current job?
“I student taught with the head of the science department, I heard about the job through him.”
Can you tell me a little about this position?
“I’m a chemistry teacher at the high school level. I teach honors and college level classes.”
Can you explain the Interview Process?
“For the interview I was called in to talk with the principal of the school, the head of the science department and the superintendent of personnel. They asked me a series of questions, most having to do with classroom management skills, and offered me the job the next day.”
Did you have an internship before this position and how useful was the internship?
“I did not have an internship.”
Did Career Development/STAC help you in anyway?
“STAC did not help me finding my job.”
Can you tell us about some of your current responsibilities / roles?
“I am responsible for teaching regents chemistry, at the honors and college level and all that comes with that.”
What is your favorite aspect of the position, can you give an example of what has been your favorite experience so far?
“Working with the students in and out of the classroom is my favorite part. When students come back years later to visit and thank you for caring so much and taking an interest in them, is what really is rewarding about this job. I live in the district I work in and often times I run into students outside of school and it’s always interesting to see what they are up to and how they have changed over the years. To me, the best part about my job is the people interactions we have on a daily basis.”
What advice do you have for other STAC students looking for a job or internship?
“Make as many contacts as you can and always follow up with them. A lot of finding a job is about timing and being in the right place at the right time. Always stay positive and be yourself on all job interviews, remember you are prepared and do your best.”
Leave a Reply

