#MySpartanSuccess Tina Hamamciyan

 

454041When do you plan to graduate and what is your major?

I am currently a Junior so I will be graduating in May of 2018. My major is Accounting and I have a minor is Economics.

Can you tell me a little about your internship?

Right now I am interning at a small accounting firm in New City called Feldstein and Stewart. I am their first intern ever, and am classified as a “junior accountant.”

How did you hear about this position?

Professor Van Pelt actually told me about this opportunity. He had worked with one of the partners a while back and asked if they had any openings for internships.

Can you explain the Interview Process?

My interview process was fairly simple. I was interviewed by both partners of the firm. They asked me a couple questions like “Tell me about yourself?”, “What accounting classes have you taken so far, and what have you learned from each?”  This enabled me to share my academic experience, whilst incorporating my background knowledge of Microsoft Excel and quickbooks.

Did Career Development/STAC help you in anyway?

I have to give credit to Professor Van Pelt on assisting me with this internship, but the Career Development Office have been extremely helping in other ways.  Career Development helped edit my resume so it is in good shape for when I apply to any future internships. I had also reached out to the office before I got this internship and they gave me great suggestions on websites to check out when applying to internships.

Can you tell us about some of your current responsibilities / roles?

As I said I am classified as a “junior accountant” so no coffee runs or filing is in my title thankfully. I work A LOT with quickbooks, so this means lots of bank reconciliations. I also do payroll for companies that use our payroll through quickbooks.

What is your favorite aspect of the position, can you give an example of what has been your favorite experience so far?

I’ve done a little of everything so I don’t particularly have a favorite as of right now. My favorite experience so far though was coming upstairs for the first time seeing where I would be working. I have my own room, dual desktop, and phone. All of this just makes you feel very important and appreciated.

What do you plan to do after the Internship?

I plan to use this internship as my base for my resume. I would love to intern at one of the Big 4 Accounting firms after this and eventually try to get a job there as well. I also plan on getting my CPA after I graduate so I can have more of a chance working for the Big 4 one day.

What advice do you have for other STAC students looking for an Internship?

I suggest that you take advantage of the resources around you. Talk to your professors and see who they know and how they can help you. Most want to help the students they see potential in so make good impressions and show you care. Whether it be in or outside of the classroom. STAC has some great resources and many successful people that have graduated here. Get involved in clubs, mentoring programs, and go to the programs they provide (internship fairs, speakers, bloomberg trips, ect..)

Leave a comment