#MySpartanSuccess with Kevin Alvora

  1. When do you plan to graduate and what is your major?Kevin

I am a part of the three-two program for Mechanical Engineering, so I plan on graduating in May 2020 with my Bachelor’s Degree in Mathematics from STAC and my Bachelor’s degree in Mechanical Engineering from Manhattan College.

  1. Can you tell me a little about the internship?

I interned at a business called DBS. This is a building consultant company in Manhattan. Last summer I worked in Williamsburg, Brooklyn on a condo conversion project.

  1. How did you hear about this position?

My brother was an intern there a few years before me and I was introduced to the company by him. It helped him with his career, so I am hoping it will help me with mine.

  1. Can you explain the Interview Process?

I had to send in my resume in May of 2016, and then was selected to continue the process by having an individual meeting. I had a one-on-one interview with the CEO of the company. After this interview, I received a call about a week later. I was offered the position and I started in late May.

  1. Did Career Development/STAC help you in anyway?

Personally, I did not go to Career Development about this internship, as it was a very last minute decision to apply. I was lucky enough to receive the internship, but I do encourage everyone to attend Career Development if possible because it is a very useful tool many don’t take advantage of.

  1. Can you tell us about some of your current responsibilities / roles?

As an intern, I would walk through the building that was being converted and gather information for the companies that were performing this conversion. I would take measurements that would determine the amount of supplies ordered to be used during construction.   I would also create documents that were used to determine many details on the building. These would be sent out to different companies to either bid on the construction or continue what was originally done.

  1. What is your favorite aspect of the position, can you give an example of what has been your favorite experience so far?

My favorite part of this internship is the amount of trust that is put into my hands. There are times where the documents aren’t even reviewed and they are sent out to big construction companies.  Thousands of dollars in products would be purchased because of the calculations that I would make. My role within the company was valuable and that’s why this internship means so much to me.

  1. What do you plan to do after the Internship?

I plan to get a job in this field in some way. This internship is a very educational experience, which will help me decide what type of career I want to pursue.

  1. What advice do you have for other STAC students looking for an Internship?

My advice to others is to start looking for internships as soon as possible. I started my internship after my freshman year and I feel like the experience was irreplaceable. It has given me not just technical skills but also social skills. Using the career development at STAC will guide people in the right direction and give everybody the best opportunity to succeed.

Leave a Reply

