#MySpartanSuccess Interview with Carolyn Kopf

When do you plan to graduate and what is your major?

I am a part of the five-year accounting program, so I plan on graduating in May 2018 with my Bachelor’s Degree in Arts and Sciences and then my Master’s Degree in Business Administration the following year. I am majoring in Accounting and have a minor in Mathematics.

21124145791_dd90bd85bb_oCan you tell me a little about the internship?

I interned at PKF O’Connor Davies LLC. It is a top 25 accounting firm located in Westchester, NY. I worked in the government auditing division within the company.

How did you hear about this position?

One of the partners of the firm contacted me to see if I had any interest in interning for the summer.

Can you explain the Interview Process?

I had to send in my resume in September of 2015, and then was selected to continue the interview process in October. I had a one-on-one interview with a partner in the government division that October. Then, I had follow-up phone and interview questions before I was offered the position in January. Then I began the internship in June of 2016.

Did Career Development/STAC help you in anyway?

I went to Career Development in September to tailor my resume to this specific internship to better my chances of getting selected. Only 12 interns are chosen for the summer, so Career Development really helped me put myself in the best position possible to get the job.

Can you tell us about some of your current responsibilities / roles?

As an auditor, I traveled each week to a new client. I was in the government division, so my clients included towns, villages and school districts. On the audit, I was in charge of accounts including cash, encumbrances, subsequent receipts and disbursements and accounts receivables. I also worked on budgets during the internship where I analyzed contractual expenditures, utilities, repairs and maintenance, space rental and debt service. I assisted with writing and preparing the budget reviews for clients. I also assisted researching way for the company to expand its Healthcare Department.

What is your favorite aspect of the position, can you give an example of what has been your favorite experience so far?

My favorite part of the position it the great community I have become a part of. I love the work I get to do, but working on a team has given me something to look forward to in my career. My favorite experience so far was working on my intern project. All 12 of the interns created a presentation that we then presented to the partners of the firm, displaying ways to expand and grow the company.

What do you plan to do after the Internship?

I was asked to return again this summer to continue my internship for a second year, which I am looking forward to greatly. I hope to grow my relationship with this company and hopefully continue working here while I complete my Master’s Degree at STAC.

What advice do you have for other STAC students looking for an Internship?

My advice for STAC students looking for an internship would be to start early. It’s never too early to ask around for possible job opportunities. I got my first internship the summer after my sophomore year and I am so thankful that I started growing my resume early because it has helped set me apart from other candidates in my field.

 

Leave a Reply

