#MySpartanSuccess with Victoria Perrotta

St Thomas Aquinas College

When do you plan to graduate and what is your major?

I plan on graduating in May of 2017 with a Bachelors in Arts and Science. My major is Finance with a double Minor in economics and social media marketing.

Can you tell me about your internship?

I worked for Sterling National Bank in a Co-Op opportunity in the Spring semester of 2016. The Co-Op takes the place of courses; I went to work at the bank instead of attending class. I worked through three departments within their headquarters; Finance department, Wire Transfer department and Automated Clearing House department. Each department taught me something different about the functionality and the dynamics of the bank.

How did you hear about the position?

After working as a career ambassador for the past two years I have developed close relationships with Mrs. Mulhern and Mrs. Vota. I was approached with the opportunity by Mrs. Vota and I immediately jumped on board with the Co-Op process.

Can you explain the Interview Process?

There was only one interview with the Sterling National Bank Educational director. We met at the bank and she asked me questions based upon my resume and why I felt I would be a good fit for the bank. I was asked situational questions and how I would react to them.

What were some of your current responsibilities / roles?


Within each department I held different roles. In the finance department I worked creating and posting journal entries,
reviewing the 10k, preparing journal entries for the general ledger, assembled journal entries for the auditing department, and reviewed worked on financial systems to find discrepancies within the programs for the general ledger. Within the Wire Transfer Department, I worked on incoming wire to the bank, I made sure they went to the correct accounts if there were wrong account numbers listed, I looked over fraudulent wires, and I prepared and sent out drawdowns. Lastly, Within the ACH department I did not hold a specific function I merely watched and observed my co-workers about the functionality and the importance of the department. All three departments had important skill sets that I can now take away with me to any new job role.

Did Career Development/STAC help you in anyway?

The Career Development Office has been my biggest advocated since freshman year. I joined the team in the end of my spring of freshman year and have been provided with every material needed to be successful. I created a resume with Mrs. Mulhern which has grown with me throughout college, I have attended many if not all of the events offered. These events have helped to provide me with professional development and business etiquette skills. The advice and tips I have received from the Career Development Office is invaluable. 

What was your favorite aspect of the position, can you give an example of what was your favorite experience?

My favorite part of working for the Sterling National Bank was knowing that my work was valuable at the company. I was preforming the same job functions as others and I was preforming at their caliber. Within the Finance department I was looking over the company’s 10k and finding miscalculations, I was sending out large sums of Wires in and out of the bank, I was preparing entries for the internal audit department. My role within the company was valuable.

What are you doing now?

As a senior I am currently applying for jobs and I am confident with this work experience now on my resume that I will be called in for Interviews.

What advice do you have for other STAC students looking for an Internship?

My advice to others is to take opportunities before it is too late. Having my internship gave me more experience than I had ever expected, not just technical skills but communication skills. Networking with your professors at STAC can lead to potential opportunities. They have internships and offer them to students that they know and trust will do good work.

Leave a Reply

