My Spartan Success with Brendon Padilla

#MySpartanSuccess interview with Brendon Padilla      

Conducted by Laurie Child                                                             


img_20161201_133243
Brendon at the New York Stock Exchange

When do you plan to graduate and what is you major?                                    

Brendon: I am currently a Communication Arts Major, scheduled to graduate this December, 2016.

Can you tell me a little about the position you have?                                        

Brendon: I am currently transitioning from an editorial intern to a freelance position with CNBC. I recently interviewed and successfully obtained the position to work for the CNBC audio team on Wall Street.  During the past 2016 Presidential election, I was called in to work in the sandbox.  This involved controlling the different cameras from other Networks, and being able to switch to different feeds if needed.  I am currently training to be the audio board controller, and will be actively working with CNBC after graduation.  Some of the responsibilities I have will include: to mic people on set (including Mad Money with Jim Cramer), control audio levels and camera angles, and work in the sandbox.

How did you hear about this position?                                                                                                

Brendon: Part of a Professor Prior class involved taking a tour of the CNBC headquarters in Englewood, New Jersey.   To work at CNBC was always a dream of mine, and the tour of the facility was amazing.  The technology they have and the resources available are out of this world.  After the tour, I knew I wanted to work there, but was apprehensive about applying due to a lack of experience.  After speaking with Dr. Durney about the tour and my aspiration of working at CNBC, he put me in touch with Mary Duffy (STAC alumni), Vice President of Talent Development.  I set up a time to meet with her and discuss the possibilities at CNBC and what I needed to do to get my foot in the door.   I spoke with her for 10 minutes at maximum, with no position lined up.  A few weeks later, I received a call and was offered a summer internship position in the talent development department.  It was a dream come true!

How did STAC help you in your career search?                                                                                

Brendon: My time at STAC helped in showing me the importance of persistence and goal setting. The personal relationships gained with the professors in a small classroom setting gives you the opportunity to extend your network and leverage your contacts.   Without Dr. Durney, I would not have had the opportunity to meet with Mary and get my foot in the door obtaining my first internship with CNBC.

What is your favorite aspect of the position, can you give an example of what has been your favorite experience so far?                                                                                                    

Brendon: Working two internships with CNBC, and now training for a freelance position, I have worked in different departments in different locations. I cannot exaggerate the community aspect of working at CNBC, and the people I work with.  I truly love going to work and being on site at CNBC.   One of my favorite experiences so far has to be working with Jim Cramer on Mad Money.  As an intern, I ran the scripts to Jim and got to know him on a first name basis (having regular conversations with him before his set).  I love his show, and before CNBC I would not have dreamed to be working directly with him.

What advice would you give to STAC students looking for a job or internship?                    

Brendon: I would advise current STAC students to take advantage of the networking opportunities at the college, especially the professors, their backgrounds and potential contacts. When competing against some of the bigger named schools out there, it can be very daunting to many students from smaller schools.  Do not let this get to you, but motivate you to show how STAC has prepared you.  Focus on being unique and detail orientated when in the workplace.

Leave a Reply

